10 Individual Tragedies That I Call Research

  1. The Light Just Then

WIndow Edit.jpg

I was exploring Terra Cotta looking for things to…borrow….when the beautiful light coming through the window caught my eye. It was angled in such a way that only a strip of the room was really visible, and this added a layer of mystery to the space which I decided to capture photographically.

 2. Scratchboard Study – Breakfast Specials

 

IMG_4782.JPGIMG_4812.JPG

For this gathering of information, I decided to visually study the breakfast menu and attempt to recreate it on scratchboard (with a few creative liberties added).

3. He was a lonely boy

So upon reaching Terra Cotta, my group’s plans had immediately been derailed due to the upper floor being rented out, with the exception of the back deck. We proceeded to carry out our performances and group investigations in that time, however upon peeking into the upstairs lounge, I noticed that there was only one man in the room.

 

One man had rented the entire floor to himself.

This wasn’t even the weirdest part…He was just sitting in a chair, staring at the wall.

I wish I were making this up but it was honestly one of the most bizarre, and slightly disturbing things I had ever seen.

4. Rubbing Myself. Twice.IMG_4818.JPG

This was an individual rubbing I created as result of textural exploration of the upper deck. We later brought all of these individual rubbings together to create a collaborative piece of textural expression.

5. The Frat Party Coffee Funnel

IMG_4811.JPG

This was kind of a study of the physics of coffee, as I created the funnel and attached the tube, plugging the other end that was within the coffee cup. When I poked a hole in this end, I allowed the air in the tube to be forced out and the coffee to travel from the makeshift funnel down the tube and into the coffee cup.

6. Hoo-Dun ItIMG_4813.JPG

After carefully observing the cashier’s patterns of behavior when someone ordered, I was able to pinpoint an ideal time to take this stuffed owl, which sat right in front of the register and well within sight of employees. Its twin sat atop the Breakfast Menu.

7. Fan Recreation – As if one tacky palm frond fan wasn’t enough

IMG_4785.JPGIMG_4814.JPG

 

8. How I became 50% dairy

 

So, I’m not exactly sure why I wanted to try this, or what I thought it would accomplish.

I went into the Terra Cotta earlier in the week. Ordered a small how Mochaccino as usual, sat upstairs, enjoyed my time alone and sipped my beverage.

Everything was going pretty well, I was taking in the space around me and brainstorming things I could do to perform in or investigate the space.

I thought then would be the perfect time to do both.

I walked downstairs

Looked the cashier dead in the eye

Filled my entire cup with Half and Half

Drank it all in front of her

And subsequently walked out.

 

And that is why I felt sick for the entire day on Tuesday.

9. The following is my highly exaggerated ordeal of attaining coffee stirrers:

I walked into Terra Cotta and all eyes were on me. They knew I was up to pure evil. I nonchalantly ordered my drink, the cashier not being smooth about detecting my poker face. As she turned to make my drink, I searched the counter and side counter for stirrers, only to find travel cup plugs. Who even uses those?!

As I was very disappointed, I returned to Harder Hall for a bit, where my friend asked me where the RePo was located. I brought her down to the courtyard and opened the door for her to find the space almost immaculate in comparison to how I had last seen it.
Upon inspection of a few drawers, I saw that one had a container in it.

 

Could it be?

 

The one thing my heart had been missing?

 

And that was how I came across approximately 200 coffee stirrers without having to embrace my inner kleptomaniac.

10. Embossing Foam

flue-meimg_4816img_4817

For this study, I noticed foam-filler on the exterior of the building and decided to document the elevations of sections of it using hot glue overtop and image I took of the substance.

Leave a Reply

